Craig Samuel
1 min readJun 22, 2024

--

I'd like to contribute here. Let me explain what I have in mind.

My sister wrote a lot of SciFi novels which she did NOT publish. She was too busy writing, and didn't understand the publishing process. I read and advised and critiqued. I find the stories to be fascinating, engaging, and entertaining. They are highly imaginative science fiction. They're good enough I don't want to put the volume down - sometimes I end up reading into the wee hours of the morning.

In December 2020, she abruptly died, leaving us with all the unpublished novels.

My nephew (her only son) has asked if it's possible to publish on Medium. If we publish behind the paywall, we're not sure who should be paid. Technically, the material now belongs to my nephew, as the only heir.

Our current proposition is to publish in front of the paywall, to provide maximum exposure, and gauge reactions, possibly get some feedback, or get the attention of a publisher interested in the genre and in her style.

There are between 5 and 8 full-length novels, depending on how you slice it. If they make money somewhere it would likely go toward her grandson's college education (he's 3 this year, he's my nephew's son).

The novel we'd like to start with formats into a 280+ page document on paper. We'd like to submit it serially, about 2500 to 3000 words at a time. Can we do this here?

--

--

Craig Samuel

A bit Stoic, I live in a cabin in the San Bernadino mountains. I publish fiction, poetry, and memoirs when I can. I draw on 70+ years of life experience.